.The True Revolutionist Newspaper.

.Cheryl Hatalla.Liz Morris. Abby Wheeler.


.Issue 1. Issue 2. Issue 3. Issue 4. Issue 5. Issue 6. Issue 7. Issue 8. Issue 9.

.What the hell is this?. Making us Known. The Forum. Biography. GuestBook. Host.

true | revo

Today while sipping on a very refreshing coke after school, I asked Chad if I could get on the computer. (I swear this is going somewhere important.) He said no. "I didn't know you guys had a forum and I'm posting on it." he replied. "You didn't know we had a forum?!" I asked, moderately surprised. "Nope"


This is why I approach you today. The Forum is very important for the True Revolutionist, but many of you may not know it exists. The original purpose of this newspaper was to get people to think instead of just being mindless drones with coordinating wardrobes. The Forum allows y'all to discuss the issues. I know SOMETHING in issue 8 was stimulating. I mean....GAY EXPERIMENT. (Maybe that was stimulating in a different way....) Anyway, go to the forum and talk amongst yourselves. Post something like, "Yo, you guys suck." Or if you're feeling positive say something along the lines of, "Brilliant. Issue 8 was a compelling and stimulating piece of contemporary literature that I am captivated and moved by. Now, I am going to peruse the subject of *insert article here.* Et Cetera." Or, this is a harder one to pull off, criticize us eloquently. "Though I understand your strong feelings for *Insert subject here* I feel that et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.." So go post! This is not a yes or no question! I hope you all have a simply charming day.-Liz Morris

UPDATE!!!
We all know there was The Gay Experiment. We all know Cheryl and Liz had pictures taken. Some of you know there was one lone picture that needed to be scanned that hadn't yet. This is that picture. The Infamous Express Sketch Picture


Issue 8
My-oh-my, Issue 8 is out and ON TIME! Surprising, I know. Issue 8 is our political issue. We have a debate about euthanization, and a huge article on third parties. Liz has written an article on underage drinking (that is completely un-political) while Cheryl has done a lovely article on Graduation where she interviews Ian Gordon. Abby took control of the Sex Chronicles this issue and wrote about Plan B. The highlight of this issue though, is definitely the Gay Experiment. Cheryl and Liz acted like lesbians for two hours to see how central Pennsylvania will respond. Ready to read? Let's get it on!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In this issue:

Editorial- How we love to get e-mails from you people! Joy!

Myths: Abbey Road- Abby tells about the meanings of symbols on the cover of Abbey Road

The Music Column- Liz rambles about her life with music

The Big Debate: Kill Bill- Many people, the staff included, debate the "Mercy Killing Bill" nicknamed the "Kill Bill"

Teenage Drinking- Liz tells us why we shouldn't drink if we're underage

Third Parties: An Overview-Many of the prominent third parties are explained-Cheryl

Libertarian Party-Cheryl

Revolution Party- Liz

Green Party- Abby

The Sex Chronicles: Plan B- Abby discusses the Plan B drug

The Gay Experiment- Cheryl and Liz act like lesbians and wrote about it

Job for a Day-Abby asked us what we wanted to be for a day. We told her

Ghost Stories-Guest Writer Sara Pressley tells us about ghosts

Graduation Project: Part One- Cheryl interviews Ian about what it's like to be a senior about to graduate

Poems by Ian Gordon- Ian wrote poems. We publish them. Yay!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Editorial:

To all the staff at the True Revolutionist!!!

How terrific to read your latest issue! I sat down with my morning cup of java and enjoyed hearing from some of the coolest young people around. I love the issues you address and the fact you back up your opinions with research. You debate with more clarity, passion and intelligence than most adult rags. I commend you all for it. Please keep the issues coming.

Frau (Ogden) Baboian

Dearest little Tadpole:

I did indeed read issue 7 (that's the only one that I have read). I am impressed with the courage you three show in putting yourselves out there. I took the right side/left side brain test and scored 6/6. What does that indicate??

I hope you guys continue to write and express yourselves---my ONLY reservation was the four-letter wording throughout---although I understand that for some teens to take you seriously, you have to act like you live dangerously.......

Love yas,

Mamma Marrs

Editors Note: We got this question from a few people and have decided that if you get a 6/6 on the Left and Right side of the brain test then you use each side of your brain equally! Balance is good.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Myths: Abbey Road

To continue The True Revolutionist's quest on "myth busting" I decided my next myth would be to review the cover of "Abbey Road" by none other than The Beatles. There are many conspiracies surrounding this work of art and I wanted to find all of them leading up to the main message, "Paul is dead."

We all know (and if you don't know you ought to slap yourself across the face) that Paul is still alive, which therefore means Paul never died. Around the time "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club" and "Abbey Road" were released, The Beatles stopped touring and performing live. Their only publicity consisted of their records. So don't ask me why they needed more publicity but the "Abbey Road" album could have possibly been a stunt to get people's attention. Maybe they were just stoned.

The biggest clue and attention grabber is the way they look. No, I don't mean the bell bottoms and shaggy hair. It's the order they're walking in and what clothes they're wearing. John Lennon leading the procession, dressed in all white depicting an angel. Following John, was Ringo in black symbolizing the minister. Third, was Paul, who was supposedly dead. They say this because he had on his best suit and was clean shaven. Not only that, but notice that Paul is the only one out of step with the others. While John, Ringo, and George were walking with their left foot first, Paul was stepping with his right foot. Last of the four is George Harrison dressed down in blue jeans and is said to be "the gravedigger".

If you look closer, you can also see three men standing in the distance. These men were supposedly said to be the other three Beatles looking on after Paul passed away. Another strange detail is the license plate of the white volkswagon parked behind them. It says, 28 IF. Paul would have been 28 if he had dies when that record was released.

So. A myth? Some weird coincidence? Perhaps. All this may have just been leading up to another publicity stunt to get people to buy their albums. Whatever the reason The Beatles decided to kill of Paul it certainly has caused a lot of talk in the music industry.

Information from - http://www.grassyknoll.homestead.com/1006BeatlesHoax.html -A.F. Wheeler

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Music Column

The Music Column this issue was supposed to address the concept of how fans can negatively affect a band. After I had finished writing the body of the article, I attempted to write the conclusion but just couldn't put it into words. After re-reading the article, I decided it was not True Revolutionist worthy and decided to re-write it. This is what you get.

Music makes my heart beat faster. There has never been anything that has influenced me as greatly as music. Playing guitar and singing while I was very little, my parents were the first people to expose me to it. My dad had been in a band since the time he was in high school and so he knew a lot about music. I remember the day he got his new guitar. It was an Ovation and we were not allowed to touch it. The Ovation was black with mother of pearl around the sound hole, mother of pearl fingerings, and mother of pearl tuning knobs. It was beautiful. We all sat around while he sang and played.

Though I don't remember it, my first favorite band was the Damn Yankees. According to my mother, that was very embarrassing. Next to be my favorite was Hanson. To understand my love of Hanson, you have to understand a few things: I was in third grade, I was into simple melodies and lyrics I could memorize, and they all had long, blonde, pretty hair. But for me, there really was no music at all until I discovered, Something Corporate.

Something Corporate is a band out of Orange County, California that can only be described as piano rock. Andrew McMahon, the lead singer and pianist, has the most lovely lyrics and piano parts. I love how diverse the sounds of Something Corporate can be and how hard they rock live. Which brings me to my new obsession, live music.

In August of '03 I saw Something Corporate live in Lancaster. I was way in the back, with my mother, and thought I would die of pure exhilaration. Live music gets me so hyped up, no matter who's playing. Recently at my high school, we had a benefit concert for the Jake Gittlen Cancer Research Institute. It was just a bunch of kids messing around on stage, but it was glorious. If you were to ask my fellow writer at the True Revo and friend, Abby Wheeler, about how I acted that night, she would probably cringe; I was acting like I was on crack or something.

Live music is amazing because you can see the emotion on stage and feel it in your body as the bass line resonates. All around you, bodies are pulsating to the music along with you and everyone is screaming to the lead guitarist to keep going. The lights are all shining on the beautiful people spilling their hearts forth through melodies sprinkled with sharps and flats but always coming together for choruses and interludes. It's something I can not give justice to with words.

So, boy and girls, I leave you with this: listen to more music. Sing when you wake up and when you fall asleep. Embrace the glory of it all. Oh, and be sure to read the music column next issue for an article about mosh pits.-Liz Morris

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Big Debate: The Kill Bill

The political Scene

Kill Bill

The True Revolutionist has decided to add a more political side to its issues. Each issue, we will debate a bill with a group of several debaters. The bills will be picked out of a bill book with bills written by other teens across Pennsylvania who participated in the Youth and Government Model Convention. To be more open minded, we tried to get as many view points as possible, from religious conservatives, to big business republicans, to working class democrats, to loose morale libertarians, to the undecided, and even to a foreign perspective. Each debater will write a paragraph stating their views on the bill. This issue, the debate is the hot topic of euthanasia.

An Act

1. Purpose:

2. The purpose of this bill is to present terminally ill patients or those patients with

3. incurable conditions the choice of being humanely killed.

4. The general assembly of the commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

5. Section I: Short title

6. This bill shall be known and cited as the "Mercy Killing" Act

7. Section II: Definitions

8. Terminally ill: approaching death; fatal

9. Euthanasia- the act or practice of ending the life of an individual suffering from a

10. terminal illness or an incurable condition as by lethal injection or the suspension

11. of extraordinary medic

12. Patient- a person residing in a facility that requires care of others i.e. nursing home or

13. hospital

14. Caregivers-a licensed individual such as a physician or nurse who assists in the 15.prevention or treatment of an illness or disability

16.incurable condition- not capable of being cured

17. Section III:

18. a patient's caregiver shall be allowed to euthanaze a patient if the patient so requests

19. in writing. the patient's formal request must be witnessed by two individuals. the act

20. of the actual euthanziation must be witnessed by two individuals.

21. section IV:

22. If the person in question is in a coma and is diagnosed by a licensed physician to

23.never wake up then the decision of euthanization may be made by the patients legal

24.guardian.

25.Section V:

26.if the person in question is conscious but incapable of writing then the verbal request

27.shall be sufficient

28.Section VI:

29. Life insurance policies shall file euthanasia under normal death since in all cases of

30.euthanasia death is inevitable.

31. Funding:

32. All cost of euthanasia shall be paid for by the patient.

33.Regulations:

34.This bill shall be enforced by the State Department of Health

35. Penalties:

36. any facility found that is not allowing these procedures will be punished as follows

37. i) first offense- $1000 fine

38. ii) second offense and up- $5000 fine

39. if the crime is euthanizing without the patients request or consent then the act will be

40. seen as murder and punishment will follow the process of any other premeditated

41.murder.

42. Effective date:

43. This bill shall take effect exactly two years after its passage.

Bryan Gaetania
Age: 16
Grade: 11
Party: Republican

I rise in strong opposition to this bill for many reasons. First being in Definitions, terminally ill is incorrectly defined, for the medical community does not define it that way. I had cancer and that was considered a terminal illness even though I had the ability to be cured. Also I feel as though a person should not have the ability to terminate their own existence, for in this country, in this commonwealth, it is illegal to commit suicide and this is a form of suicide. Doctors help patients quite a bit in keeping them pain free through their last days. Another problem with this idea is that when in the final days of one�s life, it is possible and even probable to make a decision that has not been thought out. With heightened emotions and pain, one can make a decision spur of the moment that was not well thought out. This bill does not outline what drugs shall be used in the lethal injection. This is a problem because a doctor could inject air, to cause a heart attack which will kill the patient very painfully. It is because of these issues that I must be against this bill and urge it to fail.

Magnus Martin (From Scotland)
Age: 17
Grade: Sixth Year
Party: Undecided

This issue is a sensitive one. I - and I'm sure most people - would never be too quick to allow someone to be killed from their own will. It would be dangerous to go about saying that pain can be resolved...by killing yourself. However, euthanasia is an unfortunate problem and, in certain cases, I believe people should be allowed to choose to die. Terminally ill patients or those with incurable diseases should be given the option of a humane death if their situation is dire and the pain intolerable. However, I do think that those people who wish to be granted such deaths must be authorized to do so by close family and/or doctors who are well informed on the individual�s case. Death by chose is a sad and often tragic thing. In some situations, however, it provides the patient with the only suitable option. Their pain may have reached such and excruciating level that they no longer have the will to live. Therefore, despite my lack of knowledge on the issue, after careful consideration, I give my backing to this bill.

Terry Sinno
Age: 15
Grade: 9
Party: Democrat

I am for this because people should have control of their life. If they are terminally ill then they should have the choice of whether they want to suffer or not. Its not anybody�s right to tell you whether your should live the rest of your life suffering or not.

Liz Morris
Age: 15 7/12
Grade: 9
Party: Independent

This, like many controversial issues, should be legal and rare. Also, I think this bill should be revised so that three doctors have to agree to have the patient euthanized. The person in question should be terminally ill to the point of no return to normalcy. The patient must have exhausted all other resources, (such as medication, surgery, and other procedures) before being allowed to be euthanized. This bill should be an absolute, all out last resort for patients who will definitely die sometime in the near future, but are in excruciating pain now. Much as I have previously stated, this should be rare and legal.

Cheryl Hatalla
Age: 15
Grade: 9
Party: Libertarian

This bill doesn�t take much thought. Its very simple, people should have control of their own lives. You own yourself; no one else owns you meaning you should be able to do whatever you want to yourself, as long as it isn�t affecting anyone else. Besides this, who knows what�s best for you? You. One thing I am not too sure about is in line 19 and 20 the bill states that two people must witness the patient agreeing to be euthanized in writing, and two people must witness the actual euthanization. Wouldn�t one person be sufficient? My concern with this is having two witnesses during the euthanization. Personally, I wouldn�t want to witness someone being euthanized, so what if you can�t find enough people willing to witness the euthanization? This may not be an issue, but there is a possibility that a case like that may occur. Some may consider this bill immoral or wrong, but if you believe it is wrong or immoral then don�t let yourself get euthanized. Simple as that. I am in strong support of this bill.

Abby Wheeler
Age: 15
Grade: 9
Party: Independent

I have thought about this bill for days, and what side I wanted to support. It basically comes down to this; someone is going to die. In a case of inevitable death would you want the person to die in pain or peacefully? I think the only way someone should be aloud to die this way is if this is the only choice they have. If the person is in pain and is counting the days until death they should be aloud to die without pain.

I agree with Liz in saying that this cannot rely on one sole person to make the choice. Doctors need to recommend it if, and only if, death is absolutely inevitable and there is no chance what so ever they will be able to function normally again. I also think that family or close people to the dying individual need to give a sort of permission for this to take place. Lastly, this mostly relies on the person in pain. They need to consciously make the final decision on dying. If they are in a coma or suchlike the procedure should not take place and I don�t think doctors and friends/family can decide by themselves without that persons consent.

Dying is an awful thing and no one should have to go through it painfully. It�s a rare and sad case when a person wishes to die. Time always seems to run so slow until the end and it�s hard to imagine anyone wanting to die. But I think that if it is the only way and a last resort the person should have the choice to die painlessly.

Abby Back
Age: 15
Grade: 9
Party: Republican

Tired of life and feeling as if he could not go face another tomorrow, one man jumps from a bridge, committing suicide. Nearby, another man lies in a hospital bed. He too, feels as if he cannot go on. However, the latter is humanely killed and therefore his death is "ok." I see something wrong with this picture.

Anybody who knows me knows I'm a Christian, and I firmly believe that God is the author of life and death. No human has the right to choose when someone is going to die, even if it is that person's own life. It says in Acts 1:7 "It is not for you to know the times on the seasons, which the father hath put his own power." This means that God is in charge of when all things happen. It's not our business to mess with it.

However, its my understanding that others do not share my views on God. There are more reasons that I disagree with this bill. First of all, suicide is suicide. It is wrong to condemn one form and justify another. Second, if not suicide, than the fact a person is being unnaturally killed is wrong. Unlike abortion where one might say a fetus is not a person (don't get me started), in this case, we are sure the person is an individual. In killing that individual we would be taking away a human life! A doctor should not have the right to do something as inhumane and immoral as murder even if the patient chooses death.

Also, a law like this opens a myriad of possibilities as it nearly legalizes murder. Can a husband choose for a wife to die? What if he's not sure of her will, even if she wants to die? Does any other person, even a legal guardian, have the right to decide when I can die if I were in a coma? My answer to these questions is no. Plus, an "incurable condition" may not always be incurable. Sometimes doctors are wrong. If my dad can survive a five story fall, a broken neck, and back, and internal hemorrhage AND walk out of the hospital un-paralyzed , I am not sure these is someone out there who can say someone can't survive an "incurable condition."

Finally, there is no one who can tell me if I do not kill someone I will be punished! Someday I might become a doctor and if I do I have no intent of killing someone because they ask me to. I will help them but not kill them! Yes, I disagree with the Mercy Killing Act because it is next to murder.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Teenage Drinking

This is not going to be an article talking about why you shouldn't drink because its just immoral. This, also, is not an article about how one shouldn't drink because its unlawful. Last, this is not an article about the political aspect of why the government shouldn't tell you when to drink. This is an article about teenage drinking because it is hurtful.

Lots of people in high school drink. They drink because its fun, or because you're not supposed to. Possibly they drink to get away or because of peer pressure. There is, however, one underlying reason for why teenagers drink in high school. They drink to get drunk. In high school, its very hard to drink responsibly, considering this underlying reason. Drinking in high school can harm you later in life. According to research done by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, people who start drinking when they are 15 or younger are 4 times as likely to become alcoholics than people who wait until they are 21.

Alcoholism rips everyone in your family and friends apart. Alcoholics will do anything to cover up their problem, including lying about pretty much everything. Even after an alcoholic becomes sober, its very hard to have faith in a person who has betrayed your trust so often. Also, their drinking problem will probably arise again after a tragedy occurs in their life, such as the death of a loved one or a loss of a job. Alcoholics are also more likely to drink themselves to death.

And yes, you can drink yourself to death. I don't mean over the years, I mean in one night. Considering my body size, I could drink a quart of vodka one night and die within hours (though the amount of alcohol one has to drink varies.) Disregarding government regulations, you probably should not even start drinking until you are at LEAST 21. Your brain will not stop developing until you are 21, and drinking before that can damage it and retard your whole body's development. It makes you stupid.

To argue that underage drinking is ok is preposterous. Not only does it hurt the person drinking, but it hurts the people around them. If you are sitting here reading this, thinking it is completely silly and untrue, go ask some mom who's kid is dead from drunk driving. Or go ask someone who's best friend succumbed to alcohol and is now just a shell of themselves. Go to an AA meeting and look around at all the pain. Then maybe you'll realize that underage drinking isn't such a great idea.-Liz Morris

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Third Parties: An Overview

With only seven months until the 2004 elections, the campaign is top news these days. In a country so diverse and ethnic, you�d be sure to think that there is plenty of parties to choose between other than republicans and democrats. True, there are many other parties. These political parties are known as third parties or independent parties. However, while America may be considered �fair and just� by many, if America was �fair and just�, wouldn�t every party have an equal chance? No.

While both democrats and republicans use our tax dollars to pay for their election campaigns and their conventions, third party campaigns and conventions are paid for by donations of their supporters. Wouldn�t it only make sense to have democrats and republicans pay for their campaigns and conventions from donations of their supporters? With democrats and republicans using taxpayers� money, these parties obviously have more money than the third parties, which equals out in more publicity, more debates, and more conventions. Democrats and republicans have voted so that they are able to use taxpayers� money in their campaigns.

So maybe you�d suspect that�s the only reason third parties have always had trouble being elected into office. Not only do democrats and republicans use taxpayers� money for their campaigns, but both parties cooperate to enact laws in almost every state making it very difficult and expensive for any other candidate to get on the ballot. Sure, they may have told you in history class that America is free and just, but with elections as corrupt up as this, could anyone in a form of sanity believe it?

Why only limit your choices to democrat and republican while there are at least 100 other political parties? Though voting age is 18 in the U.S. it doesn�t hurt to find your party early.

The Family Values Party- This is one extremely conservative party; in fact, it doesn't seem that a party could become more conservative. This party is based on religion and should probably be re-titled the God party. This party follows the bible strictly. Outlaws: tobacco, alcohol, gambling and breaking the Ten Commandments.

The Grassroots Party- This party is mainly about ending cannabis prohibition. Believes that its a real assault on environmental ethnics, economic freedoms, access to medicines, individual liberties and personal responsibilities. The Grassroots also hope to improve education systems, transportation, economic developments and civil liberties.

The Light Party- Originating from San Francisco, this party has a seven point platform; Health project, economic reform, peace project, light project, attainment project, global peace center, and freedom. The light party is a synthesis of republican, democratic, libertarian and green parties.

Prohibition Party- This particular party has very high morals. The Prohibition Party works for rights for life, outlawing gambling, outlawing homosexuality, and outlawing commercial pornography. This group also hopes to have right to prayer and bible in public schools.

Socialist Party- This party believes radical democracy places peoples� lives under their own control. Non racist, non classless, feminist, socialist society which people cooperate at home, work, and community describes the socialist party. Companies should produce for use not for profit. Government also has more control in economy.

American Nazi Party- Yes, it is true, Nazis are still around and in the United States. Stance is "white power for white people". Nazis believe we must secure the existence of our people and a future for white children and white nation of people.

Southern Party- Describing themselves as a truly nationalist party of the south, this party was founded in 1999 by league of South. This groups hopes to have southern and northern states to be separate countries, just as in the civil war.

U.S. Pacifist Party- This party wants to use the military as a defense by non violent resistance. Also thinks that military contradicts religious and philosophical principles, and believes military causes major social evils such as war.

Knights Party- The Klu Klux Klan has decided to become a political party in 2003. This group is headed by Southern Pastor Thomas Robb. The KKK has caused violence and terror across the south and work for white supremacy.

Other parties yet to nominate a candidate....

Libertarian National Socialist Green Party- This party was quoted as "The Strangest conglomeration of diametrically opposed political ideologies". This group of peaceful Nazis are pro-gays, pro drugs, and environmental. (Very hypocritical)

Pansexual Peace Party- This party's platform is based on maximization of peace, freedom, creative _expression and glorification of human sexuality. Many beliefs of this group are based on Wiccan views- witchcraft. Their quote is "vote for pleasure".

The Libertarian Party

Individual liberty, personal responsibility, and a free market economy of abundance and prosperity are the main views of the libertarian party. The libertarian party is the largest independent party which was founded in 1971. Today, the party is organized in all 50 states, with over 590 libertarians holding public offices. Libertarians feel very strongly about many issues including taxes, programs such as social security, drug prohibition, and foreign policies.

Unlike a majority of other political parties, libertarians want to drastically cut taxes. But you ask �how do you lower taxes�? It�s a simple plan, less government power, less programs, less military. Libertarians believe that the government should do the job it was originally given of defending our rights, and protecting us of foreign attack. If a government concentrated on only those two jobs, it would do better at those jobs for a fraction of the price, and government power would be less. For example, the government size keeps increasing with branches such as Homeland Security, resulting in nothing other than more government power and higher taxes.

Libertarians also feel very strongly about programs such as Social Security. This program started by Franklin Roosevelt in 1930 to ease the depression takes money from each pay check that you make and sends it to your retirement fund. First of all, as citizens of America we are all forced to have a Social Security number which is given to us at birth. The government tells us that we have to save our money for retirement, and that we have to save the way the government tells us to. This is where personal responsibility comes in at. As Americans we are supposedly given freedom, but do you call this freedom? Freedom is not being told how to save for retirement; freedom is saving for your retirement the way you want to. With personal responsibility and common sense we are very capable of saving for our own retirement. Secondly, Social Security is slowly going bankrupt. This is because not only are people living longer than ever before, and people who are alcoholics, drug addicts, and welfare recipients receive Social Security as well as retired people, but the government continues to take money from Social Security and use the money for other programs. The fact that we are branded with Social Security numbers at birth sounds very similar to the Nazis branding Jews with numbers.

While many politicians have the conventional way of thinking and believe that drug prohibition is the way to go, Libertarians disagree. Every year the government spends billions on the war against drugs. In 2003 alone the federal government spent 19.179 billion dollars on the war against drugs which is the rate of about $ 600 per second as stated by the Office of National Drug Control Policy . With this much money spent on the war on drugs, you�d think that drugs would be gone. Think again. There have always been drugs and there always will be drugs no matter how hard you try. The war on drugs is a lost cause and a waste of tax dollars. Not only this, the jails are filled with non violent drug offenders while murders and rapist are getting out before their sentence has passed. So why not take out these non violent �criminals� and put the people who actually deserve to be punished in jail? Drug prohibition is just like the 1920�s when alcohol was prohibited. Organized crime rose because alcohol was harder to find and buy. Illegal activity and gangs rates rose even higher. Another thing is that the government has absolutely no right to tell you what to do to your body. It�s your body and you own your body, no one else owns you. You are responsible for yourself. It is ridiculous to think that the government once again is telling us what to do. As long as you aren�t affecting anyone else exactly what does it matter? America was based on freedom and liberty. This is not freedom or liberty.

Since World War II, the United States has spent over $400 billion dollars on foreign aid. Since then these programs have shown little evidence to substantially improve the lives of these foreign countries. Foreign aid has even caused countries dependence on the United States and slowed economic growth.

"As a result, foreign aid structurally bad because it undermines the incentive to take responsibility. The more aid a country receives, the less the government of that country has to answer to the people." Stated Alex de Waal, president of the human rights group, Africa Rights.

�If Americans truly want to help other countries, they can best do so not through failed foreign aid programs, but by improving the U.S. economy, so that U.S. businesses have funds to invest abroad, and pursuing free trade policies.�

Many people consider the views of Libertarians �radical�, but these views are not radical, just common sense. Libertarians simply hope to conserve the Constitution and Bill of Rights to their highest. A simple government, personal responsibility, and individual freedom may seem like a shock to many, but it�s the best for the United States and its citizens. - Cheryl Hattalla

The Green party

When someone starts talking about the Green Party, you normally think of the treehuggers, right? In a way, I suppose, this is true. A lot of things that treehuggers believe are views of the Green Party. Most people figure that it's just a bunch of nonsense about hemp growing and making love but not war. Those people may be somewhat right, yet if you think about it, what the Green Party is asking are legitimate requests.

Like the Libertarians, the Greens believe that every human is responsible for him or herself and that the government should directly include citizens in decision-making. They also stand for social justice and respect for diversity. This means equal opportunities and respect for all, no matter what your race, culture, religion, or sex is.

I guess where the "hippie" stereotype comes in is the nonviolence and ecological wisdom parts. Our world is becoming crazier and crazier by the day because of all the violence. The Green Party wants it to stop. They say that our country should demilitarize (make troops smaller) and destroy all weapons of mass destruction (nuclear and biological). This would lead to non-violent self-defenses and eventual world peace. They also say that we are all a part of nature and that we should create an "ecological balance" by respecting nature and its resources. The Green Party isn�t just a bunch of radicals; they do have points worth considering for the next election. - A.F. Wheeler

The Revolution Party

The Revolution party, a melding and more liberal version of the Libertarian and Green Parties, calls for many changes in government. Environmentally, Revolutionists support a world wide conversion to cleaner methods of making energy. They encourage the development and distribution of clean energy methods. Also, Revolutionists promote research for reversing the negative effects of previously used methods of making energy (AKA pollution from coal energy plants). Their stand on the "war on drugs" is the elimination of it. Revolutionists want the immediate re-legalization of marijuana and the gradual re-legalization of other such "illicit" drugs. This party condones the simplification of the jail system, taxes, and laws in general. The summation of it all, is the revolution party wants a simpler government that gives the public more freedoms.- Liz Morris

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Sex Chronicles: Plan B

The fact is some people DON'T practice safe sex. And they're sorry. They end up with an unwanted child or STD and those complicate your life more than anyone can imagine.

The fact is, over ONE MILLION women are raped every year. It�s not even their fault if they get pregnant. They have to live with someone else's bad decision.

The fact is Plan B stops pregnancy. While the pill is not killing anything it does prevent a fertilized egg from implanting itself and making women pregnant. Some people get this confused with "the abortion drug"(RU486). This is definitely untrue. A common misconception is that Plan B kills something like an abortion. This pill is a way to prevent pregnancy without any form of death. The morning after pill is completely safe for most women if used properly. The first pill should be taken within 72 hours after intercourse, and the second 12 after that. This reduces the risk of pregnancy by 89%.

Even though this pill is available, it gives no reason to not practice safe sex. Plan B should only be used as a last resort or if it was not your choice to have sex (rape). This drug does not protect you from aids or other sexually transmitted diseases, but in a situation where nothing else is available Plan B may be the best option.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Gay Experiment

Conducted by Liz Morris and Cheryl Hatalla

Though the gay community seems to be increasingly growing, within the Central Pennsylvania area, homophobia seems to be at a height. These fears of homosexuality are often based on prejudice and simply unawareness of gays. To see how strong these fears really are Liz and Cheryl decided to conduct a social experiment with the general public. The experiment was to find the reaction of the public when two gays openly express their affection towards each other in the community. So, the experiment begins here. In order for this experiment to take place, a gay couple was needed. The elected candidates were no one other than Liz and Cheryl, neither opposed going from heterosexual to homosexual. Also needed for this experiment would be a crowded place with a lot of walking room for the couple to openly express their affection for each other. The place chosen for this would be the Colonial Park Mall.

Before thoughts:

Cheryl: I am very excited to do this experiment! I think its the most revolutionary idea me and Liz have had since starting the newspaper. It seems that people are still very uptight about homosexuality. I find absolutely nothing wrong with gay relationships and hope to find the public's reaction to "lesbians" openly displaying their preference. In order to do an experiment like this, I think the two people posing to be gay must be comfortable with their own sexuality before trying a different sexuality. Fortunately me and Liz are more than comfortable. I have already been asked if i was bi-sexual, and did not feel uncomfortable replying no. Liz and I are simply openly affectionate and loving to both genders. And of coarse, being Liz's lover has always been my life long dream.

Ian: As the boyfriend of Cheryl, I have absolutely no objections to this experiment, and if i did, I wouldn't interfere with Cheryl's decisions. I think its good to be this open minded to homosexuality. (I don't have any fears of Cheryl cheating on me with other boys, my main concern is her cheating on me with girls.)

Liz: I am also excited to be doing TGE. Cheryl is right when she says one has to be comfortable with their own sexuality to accept another. Every time I see a boy with luscious hair and a sexy black shirt, I know I am most definitely straight. I think the best part so far has been Chad Fox's and Abby Back's reaction to it all. Chad thought we were going to get beat up. "There are some really conservative people in Harrisburg," Chad said to me one day after school. "If they're conservative," I rebutted. "They most definitely will not come up to me and punch me. Just talk about me behind my back." Chad eventually was cool with it all though because he initially thought Cheryl and I would almost be having sex in public, which was NOT the idea of it all. Abby Back, who has morals that rival mine and who has memorized the bible (ok not really but she carries one with her 'cause she's cool like that), was appalled but polite. "Liz...that's...creative?" she said with utmost uncertainty first period one day. When I assured her she could just tell me what she thought and I wouldn't get angry at her she told me exactly how she felt. "I just, I don't know Liz. I don't agree with homosexuality, but if I were to see two girls together at a mall, I wouldn't spit at you or anything. I don't even agree with this experiment. Oh man, I am NOT telling my parents this." Hopefully, this will go well.

Abby W. : I, always being one for any kind of social experiment, am curious to see (or hear) the turnout. Personally, I don't think much will come of it because we're not really going to be doing much. Maybe get some stares and a few people may think "Oh my.." but I think more or less it will come off as a couple teens having "a good time". People may get suspicious, if say, they lock themselves together in a dressing room of Wet Seal - oh wait. Did I just give them that idea? Anyway, if I really did see two people of the same sex at the mall, movies, et cetera I wouldn't think obscenely of them. I'd actually think its pretty cool for them being brave enough to show their true selves. For the record, I agree with Liz. About the black shirts and long hair thing, I mean.

Chad Fox: My early thoughts on "the gay experiment" contrasted vastly from my present opinion. When Liz initially described her plans for "the gay experiment" as "making out in Borders", I disapproved. Liz claimed that this would be "ground breaking and interesting." I argued that "making out" in public would be beyond the context of the experiment. My opinion was that "making out", even for heterosexuals, would cause a negative reaction, not because it was a homosexual act, but because it is not considered normal behavior for people, regardless of their sexual preference. In my opinion, by conducting the experiment this way, Liz would not pick up on the subject's reaction to homosexuality, but their reaction to public displays of affection in general. Once I realized what actually was going to happen, my perception changed. I realized that this would not have a major impact on people who witnessed the experiment. I predicted nothing more that a small reaction. My thoughts on "the gay experiment" went from hating it; to thinking it was a good idea that would get a minimal reaction. It turns out my second prediction proved true.

What happened:

Cheryl: Our experiment took place on April 23, 2004. Though the reactions of the public weren�t as extroverted as we had hoped they would be. No one came up and punched as Chad had feared, and no one made obscene gestures towards us. There were glances and glares but no violence or hate. With Abby Wheeler bringing along her digital camera to catch the gayness of it all and Chad Fox and Ian Gordon, the five had an interesting time. Two hours of homosexuality was fun while it lasted, but after the experiment Liz and I seemed happy to return to heterosexuality.

Liz: The whole ordeal was quite humourous. Cheryl and I held hands or had our hands around each other�s waists for the most part, and we still got some odd looks. One small boy looked at us before looking up at his mother and saying, "Mommy...." with a questioning tone. When feeding Cheryl pizza, an older couple were openly staring at us. I don't know about you, but when I see two people holding hands at the mall, I most certainly do not stare. Just because two girls are holding hands doesn't mean you can stare. The craziest thing about this experiment is that I hold my friends hands in public all the time anyway but for some reason this time was different. Or maybe I just never noticed before.

The gay experiment was in many ways a success. It proved that in some ways lesbians are in fact looked down upon. However, it also showed that people can deal with lesbians with out becoming hostile (in Central PA). Nevertheless, it also brought up questions as well. Were Liz and Cheryl just considered "silly girls" and ignored? Would the out come be different if two males had been in the experiment? These are things we must consider. Overall, however, the Gay Experiment was a success.

Picture time!

Liz and Cheryl hold hands

Liz and Cheryl browse bikinis

Cheryl sits on Liz's lap for a rest between stores

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Job for a Day

We all want to be something else, even if it�s only for a day. The True Revolutionist recently took a poll seeing what jobs our subscribers would want to have if only for a day.

A fellow subscriber, Chad, who tends to show up spontaneously at our staff meetings said he'd want to be a Psychologist, a dog, housewife, or resident of Jamaica. After answering, �Porn star.� (sarcastically), our web designer, Jordan said that he�d be a teacher or a virus-hunter-guy. Another staff member, Liz, decided to be a cuisine taster, limousine driver (in LV), roller coaster tester, or a kissing ability tester for bands. Come on. Who wouldn�t?

Kara didn�t have to think when she answered the poll; �I would definitely be a physical therapist.� She said. With a wider range of options Ginger told me she�d be a psychologist, a voice actress, or comedian. Some popular picks for occupations at my lunch table included astronaut, doctors, and salesmen. Writer of The True Revolutionist, Cheryl, wanted to be a groupie for a loveable band, flight attendant, or waitress in a caf� along the boardwalk. She also wouldn�t mind picking up trash along the ocean or a maid. �Only if I can wear the authentic costume� she says.

Even though it'd only be for a day - think of all the possibilities, toll taker, jazz singer, writer for Webster's Dictionary. My job is great, a writer for The True Revolutionist, but I don't think I could pass up being an authentic French maid for a day...-A.F. Wheeler

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ghost Stories

Do you think ghosts are real? Well I do. And I have some true stories about ghost!! Everyone says they are myths and everything, but I think people only call them myths because when kids are young and they hear about hosts, adults usually tell them there is no such thing so the little kids don�t get scared and people just follow by that. Most ghost sightings are seen in West Virginia. My mom�s family lives there, or used to. The other day my uncle Bob sent my mom a picture of a little boy and in the background there is a lady walking from a coal mine going to my uncle Bob�s old church. When my uncle Ronny would sit in church he would tell his dad he saw a lady standing out there with a coal bucket and then his dad would look and she would be gone. So his dad would take him outside and spank him. While my uncle Ronny was getting spanked, he would look up and see her. So my uncle Bob found this picture of this boy they don�t even know and in the background was the lady my uncle Ronny would always see, we think it�s a ghost. But no one knows if it is a ghost.

Here is a story of girl that moved into her grandfather�s house when she was younger. When she was sleeping she heard someone saying her name over and over as if they were trying to wake her up, and they did! So she got scared and ran to her mom�s room. Then later that same year, she was up late one night watching TV while everyone else was in bed. She was turning out the lights to go to sleep when all of the sudden she heard a baby crying. It was so loud and definitely a baby her mom just told her it was a panther. But then later this year they were talking about what was happening and her mom told her she knew it wasn�t a panther, but her mother was afraid to think of what it really was. When her mother was young and her father was still alive, this light would follow him around the yard at night as she was doing yard work and everyone could see it but him. So now what do you think about ghosts?-Submitted by Sara Pressley

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Graduation Project: Part One

Chances are that we all think about graduating at some point or another. And chances are that most of do graduate. The True Revolutionist had decided to start The Graduation Project. This project will have three parts, one per issue over the next two issues. Our first part of the project will be talking about the actual graduation of a good friend of The True Revolutionist. Next issue, Graduation Project Part Two will be about several of us finishing our first year of high school. The final segment of The Graduation Project will be about one of our dear friends entering high school. With that explained, here is Graduation Project Part One.

With only one month of school left before summer break, many of us are very eager for the school year to end. But while many of us still have several years of high school left, the class of 2004 is finally graduating with only 25 school days remaining. Considering the fact that the amount of days spent in high school is 740 days, the last 25 can be the longest, and Ian Gordon knows exactly what this is like.

Cheryl: Are you antsy about graduating at this point?

Ian: Yes, I am finally down to the last 25 days of high school.

Cheryl: Do you feel as though you have accomplished much?

Ian: Yeah, I feel like I have accomplished the hardest thing for most people and that is developing myself.

Cheryl: What do you mean by developing yourself?

Ian: Interest and personal taste as well as direction.

Cheryl: Many people feel that graduation is a big deal. Do you agree with them?

Ian: Two months ago I would have said no, but now I say yes.

Cheryl: Why the change of heart?

Ian: Cause high school is all over with and it is going to be awkward not being there.

Cheryl: Altogether, how was your high school experience?

Ian: I have got one word for you- shit.

Cheryl: why?

Ian: I hate teachers, they hate me. I hate homework it hates me and so on.

Cheryl: When they finally call your name for you to come up and get your diploma, what will you be thinking?

Ian: Chicken Fried Rice�I�m trying to be serious but I am thinking with my stomach right now. Hmm�probably how badly I want this graduation ceremony to be over with.

Cheryl: Plans for the rest of your life?

Ian: Hopefully open a music recording studio, other than that I have absolutely no clue. There�s nothing else to say really because I won�t know how it really feels till after graduation

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Poems by Ian Gordon

Do you hear it?

Do you hear it?
Leaves rushing to the ground
From the cold autumn sound
Do you hear it?
Summer is leaving through the backdoor
Left my heart somewhere in July
The end of these nights we were high
Do you hear it?
Sound of a cloud swirling in my mind
Drunk again but not too sure
Now my life is no longer pure
Do you hear it?
Common sense is flying away once again
Standing out along the street
Mesmerized by my feet
Do you hear it?
Scared of the cars passing me by
Inebriation comes aloud
And all my friends are really proud
Screaming at them, �Do you hear it?�
And reply �No I can�t�

Attempting Happiness

It�s not my parent�s fault I turned out this way
I have no one to blame but me
It�s not the girl I love
But maybe pervious loves that weren�t real
In my mind I feel stable
But when my pen hits the paper I could cry
Spilling my emotions from deep inside
A screaming that has gone unheard
So why the change from speaking to writing
Friends loved and lost forever weigh deeply
Trusting them and left on my own
But I�ve picked myself up and started new
New friends fill the space but my guard is constantly on
One slipped by in my heart
Trust that come with no second thought
Finding now that I smile more than I did
A thanks that couldn�t be said enough
All sounding the same but meaning more each time
This is to the one that holds me
This is to the one that listens to me
This is all I can give in return for what you�ve done
All my love and 1000 thank you�s.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Staff Members

Cheryl Hattalla

Abby Wheeler

Liz Morris

Jordan HImes

Special thanks to: Ian Gordan, Chad Fox, Sara Pressly, Abby Back, Magnus Martin, Terry Sinno, and Bryan Gaetania

http://truerevo.diaryland.com

Free Java Chat from Bravenet.com Free Java Chat from Bravenet.com

Free Message Forum from Bravenet